Heart Chakra (4th)

Sanskrit: Anahata
Location: Center of the chest, near the heart
Color: Green or Pink
Element: Air
Verb: I love

The HEART CHAKRA is the fourth chakra and it deals with all facets of love, empathy, tolerance, compassion and forgiveness. Among the seven common, in-body chakra, it is the middle or center one, located in the center of the chest, near the heart. It mainly deals with social identity, self-acceptance, physical healing, balance, harmony, compassion and love.

When balanced, we can love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace, trust others and take responsible risks. However, when unbalanced, one suffers a loss of self-discipline, difficult relationships due to an inability to maintain healthy relations or we repeatedly puts the needs of others before ourselves putting our own health at risk.


In a Nutshell:
  • The center point of the other seven in-body chakras.
  • The integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity
  • Controls the heart, blood circulation, immune system, lower lungs, rib cage, skin and upper back


Extended Details:
  • Sense: Touch
  • Symbol: Crescent
  • Musical Keynote: F (vocalized "ah") but its sacred sound is YAM.
  • Sound: Wind/Air
  • Sound Frequency: 341.3 Hz
  • Associated Gland: Thymus
  • Associated Organs/Systems: Governs the thymus gland, heart, blood, circulatory, immune and endocrine systems, lower lungs, rib cage, skin, upper back
  • Qualities and/or Functions: Unconditional love, harmony, forgiveness, healing, compassion, understanding, personal transformation, warmth, sharing, devotion, selflessness
  • In A Word: Compassion


Guided Visualization by Taos Winds Spirit Music:

Tools for Working with the HEART CHAKRA:

To help activate this chakra, wear green clothing and eat green foods/drinks like vegetables, spend time in nature, along with utilizing the following tools:

  • Gemstones: Emerald, Green Jade, Rhodonite, Rhodochrosite, Rose Quartz, Ruby, Kunzite, and Watermelon Tourmaline
  • Herbs: Marjoram, Geranium, Jasmine, Lavender, Orris Root, Rose Oil, Yarrow
  • Essential Oils: Marjoram, Geranium, Jasmine, Lavender, Mandarin, Melissa, Rose, Maroc, Tangerine, Ylang Ylang
  • Yoga Poses: Camel Pose, Wheel Pose, Bridge Pose, Warrior I, Cobra/Upward Facing Dog & Reverse Plank Pose
  • Health Tips: "Enjoy a heart-healthy Mediterranean diet; exercise aerobically but also walk." (Dale, 2009, 60)



  • https://www.peacefulmind.com/project/heart-chakra/
  • http://naturalchakrahealing.com/sound-healing.html
  • https://www.yogiapproved.com/yoga/7-yoga-poses-to-open-your-heart/
  • (Book) The Complete Book of Chakra Healing by Cindi Dale (2009)
error: WARNING: Unless otherwise stated, content on Jaketha.com is protected/copyrighted. Thank you for understanding!